A few of my favourite things

And unlike the singing nun, I don’t have recourse to these only when the dog bites and the bee stings.

fruitcake and dolfin choc

Boozy fruitcake you can smell the minute the lid of the tin is opened. One day i’ll write more (i’m a bit of a fruitcake about fruitcake), but this was an off-year. Cold, sick and sad. But even half-hearted fruitcake smells lovely in the oven. Next year, fruitcake, I promise thee. In the meantime, i ought to start macerating the fruit—yes, I give it a year’s head start.

 

And the chocolate. I would like to write a letter to the person at Dolfin responsible for creating this flavour combination. I’m aware the pink peppercorn-choc combination is out there, but I first came across it via this beautiful slim Dolfin bar years ago. Maybe he laboured over it, maybe he just scribbled it down in a hurry (you know, like the boss wants six new ideas from everyone and the meeting is starting in FIVE minutes); maybe it wasn’t even him, it was groupthink. This is something I can eat at any moment. It drives me to distraction when there’s one in the house. And that elegant wrapper encased in (wasteful) plastic, trifold, like the letters we no longer write.

Leave a Reply

