The elusive date sesame sourdough

Date and sesame bread
Date and sesame bread1
This idea came to me one day, and I’m convinced it’s a winning flavour combination. But the dates just don’t want to stay intact. The first time I made this, I couldn’t find the dates in the bread after baking. So this time round, I added more dates and harder ones too. Better…but i would still like to see more date bits. They do, however, melt into the bread and lend it a very nice sweet flavour. Also, why can’t I find roasted sesame seeds here??? Back home, sesame seeds were de facto roasted. Here I’ve only seen roasted unhulled ones, no idea how these taste. Another one for the “out of the to-make file and back in again”.

Leave a Reply

