Du Pain et des Idées

ImageThis is from a rather famous boulangerie Du Pain et des Idées, whose founder has not shied away from controversy. I’ve tried some of their signature breads and found them good, but not as good as the hype would have you believe. Although I must say the croissant and chausson aux pommes I had were really good, especially the chausson aux pommes, which comes unusually with a dome enclosing diced apples. What makes me write this post, however, is the rye sourdough I bought recently, which turned out to be singularly disappointing. I didn’t ask the percentage of rye, but I thought it a bit odd how i was not really picking out any lovely bread smells, rye or wheat. It was flat-tasting and just plain. I thought to give it some time, for the taste to deepen and change overnight, as sourdough breads can do in the loveliest way, but no, it stayed…tasteless. Quite surprising, given the emphasis the bakery places on its sourdough breads – they have a very limited range and, if I’m not mistaken, they do not even have baguettes. The nougatine pastry, though, was nice, even if the insides were a tad underbaked. Might I add that their breads are some of the priciest in town.

Leave a Reply

